Temptation in a Kilt, Victoria Roberts (Review)

Temptation in a Kilt, Victoria Roberts

Laird Ciaran Macgregor of Glenorchy is on his way home from court, when he runs into a young boy who he thinks is hurt. Rosalia, a highlander with a high strung English mother remembers Laird Macgregor from her day at court. She is fleeing her arranged marriage to a man who was rumored to have murdered his wife. Her mother does not care about the man her potential fiancé is, just that he has the coins to keep her in the lifestyle she has become accustomed. Laird Macgregor offers Rosalia refuge in his home and cannot help falling in love with her although he tries to deny it. Rosalia, use to abuse at the hands of her mother thrives under her new freedom and new friends, she is in love with the Laird but has trouble believing he can love someone as big as her.

Bookswagger Danielle: Four Crowns, good read, on the way to swagger. I really enjoyed this book, it made me remember why I use to read historicals. Rosalia appealed to me on many different levels. I admired her strength in going against her parents’ wishes and running away.  However what I really liked about her was in spite of all the things she had gone through, she was still open and warm. I imagine I would be closed and weary of others if those things had happened to me. I liked Ciaran although at times I wanted to smack him for being so stubborn and obtuse. I wanted to yell at him bump Aiden. The author did a wonderful job of making me like him. I had to respect his fairness and his sense of right and wrong.

This book had a small element of suspense and I liked that it wasn’t over done. I did notice that the author did have what I would call dead space or periods of descriptive passages. I found myself trying to get past those parts quicker to get back into the “meat” of the story.  Aiden, Ciaran’s brother was an interesting character and I can tell that he will have his own story and I for one will be reading it. Will you?

Bookswagger Marcia: Four Crowns, good read, on the way to swagger. Rosalia is the type of heroine I can get behind. She was down and out but made up her mind to take a chance to save herself and I enjoyed reading about it. Rosalia wanted affection, friendship and love, meeting Ciaran gave her the opportunity to gain all those things. There were a couple of slow points which is why the read did not rank a five but this is a book I enjoyed reading, I love a man in a kilt. I am looking forward to the rest of the series. The Laird a man bogged down with responsibility, a responsibility he loves and wears well. Met a refreshing woman who was enjoying her freedom after being trapped in the oppressing home of her parents. Rosalia and Ciaran were a great match. I am happy I read Temptation in a Kilt.

About Bookswagger

I like talking about books…

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Bookswagger, Swagger Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

We know you have swagger, let me know what you think

