Against The ODDS, Kat Martin (Guest Post/Review)

Odds-Cover-(300by450)I am a huge Kat Martin fan, at least of her historical romances. I have held back on reading her contemporary and suspense romances not out of spite or anything crazy, I just had a long TBR pile which include some of her historical romances, so why give my other blogger half the satisfaction of stepping into her favorite subgenre suspense. We have an ongoing debate on which subgenre is the best and as I am sure you can understand it will never be settled. I did read Against the ODDS and Loved it (check it out, I posted it under Kat Martins guest post) Below Mrs. Martin answers the question all readers have when one of their favorite authors starts writing in a new genre or when an aspiring writer decides which genre they want to write in…Why, why, why that genre or why switch genres when we already love what you write so much?

WHY I STARTED WRITING

Romantic Suspense by Kat Martin

One of the questions people have been asking me lately is why I changed from writing Historical novels to writing Contemporary Romantic Suspense.

Basically, it was because I wanted a new challenge.  I had written over 40 Historicals.  I began to feel a little stifled by the period restrictions, the mores, the dialog.  In contemporary, I could stretch out.  I have to say it wasn’t easy to switch.

Publishers are not risk takers.  They always want to take the safe road.  It’s easier for them to sell the same kind of book by an author over and over.  The writer’s audience is building, sales are improving.  They don’t want to rock the boat.  And I don’t really blame them.

Fortunately, by the time I came up with the concept for the Raines Brothers Trilogy, Jackson, Gabe, and Devlin in AGAINST THE WIND, AGAINST THE FIRE, and AGAINST THE LAW, I had already written three contemporary romantic suspense novels for Mira and seven for Kensington Publishing.  The sales were respectable, which helped me convince my current publisher to let me make the change.

As I moved in the new direction, one of the things I really tried to do was to maintain the style of writing I was known for:  fast-paced, high-action, sexy, romantic novels.  I also wanted to keep the emotion in my stories, something I hope to make people feel when they’re reading one of my books.

I tried to make sure my basic style of writing didn’t change, even though the novels are set in a modern world instead of Victorian or Regency England.

One thing an author can do if he or she is serious about writing something else is to do it in his/her spare time.  I know that’s hard to do because is no such thing as spare time!  But there are always a few hours here and there, and if you want to write the story bad enough you can find a way to fit it in.

My best advice–and I am adamant on this–don’t stop writing the books that earn you a living so that you can write The Great American Novel.  It may never get finished and you will be out of a job.

So why did I change genre’s?  Because I have always been a forward thinking person and this was a direction I could take that would be both challenging and I hoped rewarding. With my new Against Series, it has also been very successful for me.  I am soo grateful I had the courage to make the change.

Kat---Ventura-Star-(275by20I hope my advice helps any of you out there who are thinking of making a switch?  What are you writing now and what would you like to be writing that is different?  Very best wishes, Kat

In AGAINST THE ODDS, set in Houston, the Christmas Season is the heroine, Sabrina Eckhart’s, favorite time of year.

Born in the little town of Uvalde, Rina and her mom looked forward every year to the celebration–until her Uncle Walter died on his way to her house on Christmas Eve.

It’s the inheritance Rina receives from her uncle–an abandoned silver mine in the West Texas desert–that gives her the courage to ask her long-time nemesis, Alex Justice for help.

G.Q. handsome and obscenely rich, Alex is a private investigator and an ex-Navy pilot.  Rina met him when he was helping with security for her best friend, Sage Dumont.  Sabrina doesn’t like him, but she knows he’s good at his job and she trusts him to keep her safe.

Alex is just the man she needs to fly her into the desert in search of her late uncle’s property.  Running out of money, she’s determined to find the mine and make it productive, even if it means putting up with the cocky jet jockey she finds annoyingly attractive.

EXCERPT: Rina’s adrenaline was pumping.  The thrill of being so high in an open-air helicopter was a rush unlike anything she had ever felt before.  Add to that, flying with Alex Justice, watching his long-fingered hands work the controls, seeing the capable way he handled the machine, made her heart rate soar even higher.  There was something about a man taking charge, a man who was good at what he did, that turned her on.

Not that she would ever admit it.

Alex wasn’t her type and she wasn’t his and both of them knew it.  Still, she wasn’t dead and Alex was definitely eye candy and more.

She forced herself to concentrate on the search they were making.  They’d been flying for more than an hour, had located the property but not the mine itself–assuming there was one.  There’d been nothing in the will to indicate its location or anything about it.  Just the legal description of the land itself, three-thousand acres, five-square miles, of what appeared to be dirt, rocks, and cactus.

Her gaze followed the contours of the property.  Ravines scarred the landscape, and ridges of granite rose out of the sloping desert floor.  Chaparral, mesquite, and scrub brush dotted endless stretches of rocks and sand.

“Not much out there,” Alex said above the whip, whip, whip of the rotors.

“We haven’t covered that much area yet.  Maybe we’ll find something that marks the mine.”

“If there is one,” Alex said, reminding her there might not be anything more than exactly what they were seeing–miles and miles of vast, empty desert.

The hours began to blur together.  Once they had reached the property location, Alex had begun searching in a grid pattern to cover as much of the area as possible.  The temperature was rising, the heat building inside the chopper, the afternoon slipping away.  Rina yawned and rubbed her eyes, which felt gritty from the wind and heat.

An odd noise caught her attention.  The whop, whop, whop had been so regular she’d been trying not to fall asleep.  This sound was different, a kind of grinding that had her gaze shooting to Alex, who features suddenly looked grim.

Sabrina’s heart stalled and a few seconds later, so did the engine.

Bookswagger Marcia: Four Crowns, good read, on the way to swagger. I loved it, Sabrina Eckhart is sure the mine she has inherited from her eccentric uncle has a lode of silver. She just needs someone she trusts to help her prove it. Alex Justice, is arrogant and cocky, all the things you would expect from a former flyboy turned private investigator. He has also proven to be a man who will have your back, which is exactly what the heroine Rina needs and why it is believable she would ask a guy she did not want to like for help. The heated attraction she felt for him had nothing to do with it, since she is not attracted to macho, alpha male type guys. Ya right! I loved how she tried to fight it. I did not have any problems following the series even though this is the first book I have read and the series is seven books deep. I do want to know more about Ben, I love mysterious men who love animals. If you have read the series let me know what you think, if you want to get on me for being so late to the party that  is cool to!

About Bookswagger

I like talking about books…

Posted on December 20, 2012, in Bookswagger, Swagger Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m a huge Kat Martin fan and have most of her books in my bookcase. I’m looking forward to reading Against the ODDS.

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed it I will now follow her to regency London or my home state of Texas.

    Like

  3. Marcia–loved the review–thanks so much. All of these books are stand-alone, yet the guys mostly know each other. appreciate the kind words from Rita and Bookswagger. Have a wonderful Christmas. God bless…kat

    Like

  4. Against the Odds had ACTION and Suspense! Kat Martin kept my attention! ★˛˚˛*˛°.˛*.˛°˛.*★˚˛*˛°.˛*.˛°˛.*★★˛˚˛*˛°.˛*.˛°˛.*★˚˛*˛°.˛*.˛°˛.* 5 ★’s

    Like

  5. I really enjoy Kat’s books. I can’t wait to read the newest one. The excerpt sounds great.
    Happy Holidays,
    Lori

    Like

  1. Pingback: Against The ODDS, Kat Martin (Guest Post/Review) « Adorn Grace

We know you have swagger, let me know what you think

