High Gravity, Maria Hammarblad (Interview/Review)

High Gravity ButtonInterview with Maria Hammarblad Science Fiction Romance Author

Some consider Science Fiction Romance the underdog of the romance genre, sales wise not heart. Do you see this changing?

That is an interesting question. I sometimes get messages from readers who say they never liked science fiction, but they like Kidnapped. Traditional science fiction has, in my opinion, kept a focus on technology, aliens, and foreign worlds. In that context, a book might be a grand adventure, but the relations between people in the stories are often overlooked. I believe many female readers are interested in relations and people, and this is why the romance genre in general is so big, and why many women avoid sci-fi. The combination of science fiction and romance might open up both genres to a new audience, it just takes some time.

I loved Kidnapped, the hero Travis is to date one of my favorite heroes and I see some of the same qualities in Adam the hero of High Gravity, as Travis the hero of Kidnapped. They both have the same follow you to the end of the world, love only you characteristics. What inspires you to create heroes like Adam and Travis?

Thank you! Now I’ll go around with a goofy smile the rest of the day! =) This is an clear-sighted observation, I guess it’s my idea of a romance hero… Neither Travis nor Adam is a normal human, and in my mind it fits their personalities to become fixated with the object of their affections.

What advice would you give aspiring Science Fiction romance writers or something you wish someone would have told you before you started writing?

I’d love to tie this together the first question, about the genres. Assuming other science fiction romance writers are at least a little bit like me, we like to figure out how stuff in our hypothetical universes might work. I personally love to think up theories and visualize space ships, planets, clothes, you name it. The trick is to keep most of this outside the finished book, or weave it into the story. Many readers of traditional sci fi probably want to know every detail that makes the spaceship tick. A romance reader is generally more interested in what makes the hero tick, if that makes any sense. I guess I’m trying to say the setting is a framework to the story, not the story itself.

Thank you for inviting me to the blog! I love being here! =)

Brand New WorldBrand New World (The Embarkment 2577 Series book 1) High GravityHigh Gravity (The Embarkment 2577 Series book 2)
Brand New World starts with Alex awaking in the health facilities on her new home the Bell, a huge space ship. People coddle her and know about her due to her significant other an android Adam who she met and loved when he was in her time. Adam wants Alex to make up her own mind about him so he does not tell her what they mean to each other. The book moved quickly, no unnecessary background to trip over everything flowed. The background characters are great, you have a touchable hologram dating a pirate, a ship mate with medusa like hair and playful attitude. I would read the novellas back to back as one book. Book two continues with the heroine Alex and Adam in the future, except Alex now has her memory back. In High Gravity we get to see the full extent of their relationship something that was held back in Brand New World due to Alex’s memory loss. I read High Gravity before I read Brand New World so I could make sure the books could be read as stand alone. I did not have any issues following High Gravity and found I enjoyed it more than Brand New World. The hero is unique not the typical alpha male. I enjoyed it.
About Bookswagger

I like talking about books…

Posted on January 14, 2013, in Bookswagger, Swagger Book Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Just started reading romance haven’t tried SciFi but very curious to see the difference looks good.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Shout Out Scfi Romance (The SPR Brigade 2nd Midsummer Blog Hop) | bookswagger

We know you have swagger, let me know what you think

