In Like a Lion (The Chimera Chronicles), Karin Shah (Giveaway/Review/Interview)

In Like a LionIn Like a Lion (The Chimera Chronicles), Karin Shah

Dangerous and forbidden…

Research scientist, Dr. Anjali Mehta, lost her beloved family in an earthquake. Only her work cuts through the paralyzing grief, but when she finds her new research subject, reputed mass murderer, Jake Finn, maddeningly uncooperative and inexplicably sexy she’s tempted to run away. How can she burn to touch a killer–a man behind bars?

What she doesn’t know is that Jake is a chimera, a shapeshifter who can change into a lion or a dragon with all the strengths of both even in human form, who believes his ability to shape shift is nothing but a terrifying hallucination, and his overpowering attraction to his new doctor proof positive he’s finally gone over the edge.

And the employer she trusts has an agenda all his own. If she can’t believe the impossible, neither she nor Jake may make it out alive.

Bookswagger Marcia: Four Crowns, good read, on the way to swagger. In Like a Lion is the beginning of a great series. The introduction of the Chimera and the fact that Jake and his brothers are more than one shifter but have one primary base was truly creative. For example Jake being a Chimera can shift into a lion or dragon but he is genetically predisposed to shift into a lion, while his brother a dragon, which I find very cool. I have read my fair share and yours of shifter romances and the Chimera concept is refreshing. We get a new shifter to fall in love with while keeping all the things we love about shifters and their mates.

Dr. Anjali Mehta and Jake were not a couple you would expect to complement each other at first glance. Anjali a super smart scientist who we first meet trying to sneak out of her own apartment building to avoid her neighbor and the hot ex jewel thief held captive for large chunks of his life because of his abilities. Yet when you pull back the layers, it was easy to understand why I liked them together so much. Both experienced great loss and loneliness. They found in each other friendship and a hot romantic connection. They meet while Jake is being held captive a beast which if you yelled beast Jake would probably turn around not knowing you were referring to him actually trusts the scientist Anjali who is supposed to test him. The author totally made it believable. I am looking forward to the rest of the Finn brother’s stories. How could I not with a series brimming with hunky shifters, witches, and others.

I would like to welcome Author Karin Shah who is joining us today for a interview!

Hi Marcia! It’s great to be here, especially since I follow your reviews and I know we share similar tastes in reading. These are fantastic questions!

I love romances with multicultural characters. The chimera mythology has some origin in India is that what inspired the heroine Dr. Anjali Mehta’s background or was there other inspiration?

The whole Chimera series is multicultural. Book four has an African-American heroine, who is introduced in a very minor way in IN LIKE A LION. On the face of it, I’m a WASP, but my family has a long tradition of marrying across racial and religious boundaries. My Grandfather, who died before I was born, was Jewish. My cousin married a Chinese-American, my twin sister is married to a Vietnamese-American, and I am married to an Indian-American. I started with the East Indian heroine because of the origin of Chimeras, but also because I admire my husband’s female cousins. They are all lovely, intelligent and strong, and I think they are excellent heroine material. Also, I haven’t explored it yet in the books, but the Mara family has Roma (Gypsy) blood, and linguistic and genetic studies have shown that the Roma probably came from India originally, so it makes a nice circle.

We have some of the same favorite authors, Dara Joy and Sherilyn Kenyon for instance one makes me think sci-fi romance the other paranormal. Do you feel like you’re cheating on sci-fi when you write paranormal or how do you decide which story to focus on first?

When I was younger, I was forced to walk the Romance aisle at the bookstore bent over looking at the spines of books. I was looking for the Dorchester Lovespell symbol. They were the only publisher putting out Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Paranormal Romance at the time. Once the sub-genre of Paranormal exploded, I was like a kid in a candy store! I do feel a little like I’m cheating on SFR. I have a SFR story hanging out in my head right now, but IN LIKE A LION pushed its way to the front and now the brothers need their stories told. I get a lot of the same rush from Paranormal I get from SFR, the world-building, the action, but I do miss my blasters and spaceships.

I always try to do an aspiring writers question. What is something you learned that you wish you knew when you first started writing or is there any advice you would like to give to aspiring romance, paranormal and/or sci-fi romance writers especially?

Darn! There’s so much! It’s hard to pick one. I guess I would have to say, write for yourself. Write the book that you want to read. In the end, a writer has to write the best book she can and the only way to do that is to be in love with your characters, to feel with them, and fear for them. If you don’t feel it, it doesn’t matter how well the book is written, the reader won’t feel it either.

Thanks for having me!

In Like A Lion Button 300 x 225GIVEAWAY: I am giving away 1 copy of In Like a Lion, that is how much I enjoyed it and thin you will too (it will be a digital ebook sent from Amazon as a gift so please leave your email address in the comment section below). Also 5 copies of In Like a Lion are being given away tour wide by Karin Shah enter to win via  a Rafflecopter giveaway

In Like a Lion Extras:

About Bookswagger

I like talking about books…

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Bookswagger, Swagger Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I would really like to read this book ! Thanks for the giveaway ! Sethmo1999@yahoo.com

    Like

  2. I would really like to read this book ! Thanks for the giveaway !

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

    Like

  3. Thanks for stopping by ladies!

    Like

  4. Good luck!:-)

    Like

  5. It is so refreshing that the author aims her stories to have multi cultural characters and presences in her books. It’s important to capture the attention of minority readers. Thanks for sharing and I loved the interview! Swag on swagger!!

    Like

    • Yes, especially written well it’s like winning something. I get a gewy feeling inside I guess growing up reading bodice rippers with long blondes I love the new romances w multicultural heroines as well basically it’s nice to see diversity and I want the authors who bring it to us and do it well to get recognized.

      Like

  6. I would like to read this book to…sound soo interesting! Awesome Interview!

    Like

  7. Hello Karin,
    I enjoyed that your admired your husband’s cousins and therefore had women on who to base your heroine. The world is so small and love crosses so many boundaries we need multicultural heroines. Thank you.
    I also like when you state that you should write the story you want to tell. Wonderful advise.
    Yours truly,
    Annette

    Like

  8. Great interview and looks like a great read.

    smurfettev AT gmail DOT com

    Like

  9. Thanks, Teasha! I think multicultural characters just reflect America today and in the future. 🙂 they were great questions, Bookswagger really made me think!

    Like

  10. Thanks, Adorngrace!

    Like

  11. Thanks, Annette!

    Like

  12. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Sheri!

    Like

  13. Thanks, Marcia! I need to hear it. I’m slogging through Chimera 2 right now and I need the encouragement!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Shiny Things today | Worlds to Dream In

We know you have swagger, let me know what you think

