Possessing Sasha, Shelly Douglas (Review)

detail_2511_Possessing_Sasha_DetailPossessing Sasha, Shelly Douglas

Sasha a widow and employee of upscale boutique Ciao Bella, meets ex-Marine Tony Colucci, one of her favorite customers. Tony is a spanker, he was raised in a domestic discipline household and expects it in his relationship with Sasha.

Sasha at fifty is not sure she can learn any new tricks but loved the way Tony’s spanking made her feel. After years of a lackluster marriage where it was all about her husband, she is enjoying her freedom and her smart mouth has free reign.

Tony has made Sasha his first priority and has no problem with providing discipline.

Bookswagger Marcia: Three Crowns, swagger jacked, decent read. This was a nice read, I liked the fact the heroine was in her fifties, Sasha’s age drew me to this title. One of the things that turned me off is some of the things she did. I am not fifty yet but my mother is close and I cringed at some of her behavior. Not that it was over the top bad, just some of the behavior I see in a lot of D/s reads with younger heroines. I was expecting a glimpse of maturity, with some behavior that would still earn a Grown A$% woman a spanking in this type of relationship. Hence the lower score, but all in all not mad I bought it, it was interesting and the hero drew me in, as well as his family. I would enjoy reading more titles based on the Colucci family.

Straight to the Swagger: The heroine still does those things that make you say, why. The hero spanks and is a guy, so he makes mistakes. One thing I really liked was the fact Tony was not perfect and was willing to admit his mistakes.

Side Note: At the last conference I attended, one of the main topics of discussion was the lack of older heroines. Readers felt they had grown up reading romance but the heroines had not grown up with them. I sat next to one lady, we shall refer to her as the lady in the hat. She said “just wait, just wait, I am writing a bdsm romance, and the heroine is in her 70s” The woman who made this statement could have been in her 60s or 70s but I refuse to speculate on a woman’s age! Lol. But curiosity might pull me in on that one.

About Bookswagger

I like talking about books…

Posted on October 25, 2013, in Bookswagger, Swagger Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

We know you have swagger, let me know what you think

